A small Question

Post type : Short story

Genre : Fiction

I was on a business visit to Mumbai.The same city from where i finished my MBA.After finishing my work i decided to go in my favorite restaurant where i had many parties  with my friends during my graduation .I ordered a coffee and was thinking about my college days.

Suddenly I saw her two tables away from me.It had been four years when I last time met her in our graduation ceremony.The wheel of time started revolving backwards and sweet  memories started coming in front of my eyes.

She was  a very beautiful girl,topper of our class and a good human  being.In short a girl whom every boy can dream about.I liked her very much and if u want me to confess,Yes i loved her.I was an average guy with an objective of a job in an Multinational Bank  after completing MBA.I used to watch her from distance and was caught 2-3 times by her.I sometimes had a doubt that she was staring at me too but next moment i used to tell myself -why such a beautiful girl would like me?

2 years passed away like that and apart from some group chats i never had a talk with her.On the graduation day i congratulated her for being a  topper and she said thanks along with words ” It was nice meeting a nice person “.This was our last meeting.

I was lost in my thoughts and I didn’t realize that she had come to my table.I was awakened  by a hello from her.She was with her husband and a small kid.She introduced them and i could see her smiling and  very happy with her current life.So here i was sitting in my favorite restaurant in front of my love with her happy family.

I was asking myself ,why i am still thinking about her after so many years despite of being a married man .She asked me about my job and family They were in hurry .Her husband got up,greeted me good bye and said,”I am waiting for you outside”.

I asked her to give her contact no. and email-id .She wrote it on a paper and gave that paper to me.She said good bye and went away along with her kid.I was watching her going away till the entry door .Before leaving the restaurant she turned around for a moment,her smile was gone and her eyes revealed some pain.

I looked at the paper in my hand.There was no contact information on it.The only thing that was written on it was a word – “Why ?” .

P.S. : I leave the interpretation of “Why” to readers.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by christ on April 29, 2009 at 11:52 am

    Nice story.

    I have my Whys here. Why couldn’t she tell her feelings when there was time? Why is the onus of proposing always on the guy?

    Reply

  2. Posted by amitabh on April 29, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    yet another ‘awesome’ post …….

    Reply

  3. Posted by umesh kewat on April 29, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    why? because time already passed for his chance to grab her, and now she is living happily with her family. what is the need of her contact no and E-Mail Id [:D]..

    now both are in different journey

    Reply

  4. Posted by Divyendu on April 29, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    At least she said “why”! Many times people age and die in anticipation and expectation of this “why”…..

    Reply

  5. cynic’s point of view:
    She thinks the lad is a psycho stalker! 😛
    From staring at her since college days to staring at her even after she is married she prolly thinks he caught up with her after all these years 😀
    The pain in her eyes is not pain but fear, fear of the guy..lol
    Her husband is waiting for her outside so that if the guy follows her out, both of them can ambush him and beat the hell out of him 🙂

    optimist point of view:
    She was in love with the boy, madly and deeply! Juast when she compromised and learnt to lvie with it … why come back?

    Anyway its too late now because establishing contact now (email , phone et al) was somethihg you should have done before! Why now ? Its too late! If you had the intention why didnt you do it before ? 🙂

    As the person above said, even then, the boy didn’t worry! His solace lies in the fact that though of the past , it was not a one-sided love story 😀

    Reply

  6. good one ..

    Reply

  7. Posted by Swati on April 30, 2009 at 11:35 am

    nice! poor guy…

    Reply

  8. Posted by DC++ on May 8, 2009 at 4:23 am

    II can bet, the person mentioned in the story is definitely you, may be story could be different in your case, but the mistake that guy had made is Your copyrighted.

    Again marvellous story.

    Reply

  9. Posted by navin singh on July 24, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    it was really nice reading the story, an emotional and romantic heart does not waste time connecting to a lovely story like this……good

    Reply

Leave a Reply

