Eye contact

Post type : Short story

Genre : Fiction

It was a busy Sunday evening. After finishing my shopping , I was about to go back to home. My car was parked in the front parking of shop and I was taking my car reverse to move out of parking. As I was about to turn , an auto rikshaw hit my car from behind. I moved out of car and started shouting at the auto rikshaw driver.

He was an old man and was asking for forgiveness. I drew his attention to the scratch on back side of my car. In all the years that had past, I had changed a lot. Money had made me dishonest and boastful. I knew that scratch was  already there before the accident, but still I accused  him of responsible for that.

To add more elements of drama, I had some new dialogues. “All of you auto drivers are same. Now you will demand money from me. You all are thieves. ” , I said these words almost shouting . He didn’t reply anything and was just looking away.

“Hey you,look into my eyes. Aren’t you all same ? You all cheat your pessangers.”, I was shouting more and more.

He looked at me and said with a humble voice , “Sir, everyone is not same. I am an honest person and I don’t want your money. I once again apologize for my mistake.”

I went into my car with a triumph and was about to start, he knocked my window. I lowered the window glass and he said, ” Sir , you dropped your wallet on road. ”

I took the wallet from him but was not able to make an eye contact. His eyes seemed like asking question , “Can you look into my eyes now?”

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by umesh kewat on May 5, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Yaar really Bahut hi mast likha hai.. mera dil paseej gya us driver per 😀

    awesome man keep going on

    Reply

  2. Posted by umesh kewat on May 5, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    initially when i saw heading of blog one sentence came on my mind another love story from MAKRAND treasure. started reading blog all accident and incident going on and i m thinking any time one beautiful girl will be come out as passenger from auto and give a lesson to that character of story. but in the last ending is awesome unpredictable and realize that is not a love story….. [:p]

    Reply

  3. Quite impressive and thought provoking. Keep writing!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Divyendu on May 5, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Yup…there always are some a**holes like the protagonist of the story…a story with a lesson! keep ’em coming Mak!

    Reply

  5. Posted by abhishek pandey on May 5, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    very touchy. You surprised me !

    Reply

  6. Posted by Abhishek on May 5, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    Lovely! Short and subtle… 🙂

    Reply

  7. i m sure that autovala is not hyderabadi … !!
    coz they all really are thieves

    Reply

  8. Posted by amitabh on May 6, 2009 at 7:19 am

    touching story ……..
    its not being a love story surprised me……..

    Reply

  9. Posted by gowridev on May 6, 2009 at 7:50 am

    good script man,vaha vaha!!! ,but you don’t change in future [:P] .

    Reply

  10. Posted by Neelima on May 6, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Hi makrand,
    Really very touchy story i thought i will be a love story again….nice one…

    Reply

  11. Impressive !

    Reply

  12. Posted by DC++ on May 8, 2009 at 4:10 am

    Title selection is simply superb, and the conclusion part is really good.

    Initial stories were really awesome, but what happen to you now, its a common one, i could think of the stories as it moves on. I think you keep yourself charge only when you write romantic soft love stories.

    Jack of all trades and master of none.

    Reply

  13. Posted by makrand13 on May 14, 2009 at 11:28 am

    @thnx to all for feedback.

    Reply

  14. Posted by nehalkumar on May 19, 2009 at 8:37 am

    very nice ….!!
    that is what… think twice before speak….!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

