Power of Money

Post type : Short story

Genre : Fiction

It was a hot summer day. I was traveling by a train to hyderabad. I saw a girl sitting in front of me along with her father. The girl was looking nice and the her black sun glasses made her look more attractive. She was sitting in front of me and was looking out of window.

Her father appeared to me a rich person. I got some hint from his wrist watch and his PDA. Everyone was getting bored and someone started some discussion on money.

In those days I was running short of money. My family’s financial condition was not good and I had to think twice evertime before spending money on anything. I was not happy with my life because of my financial crisis.

The topic soon switched on toΒ  power of money. I heard some one saying money can buy you every happiness in life. You can provide every comfort that your family demands. I supported the argument as I was feeling the same way. But that girl’s father didn’t agree.

He said ,” Definitely money can buy you every comfort but it’s not necessary that you can buy any happiness by money. “. I counter attacked him and said , ” You seem to have all money in the world , that’s why you are speaking like this. You need to be in our position to realize our problems. ‘

The girl was listening to argument for a long time but she had not participated yet. She said , ” I heard you all but now you will come to know why my father said so. ”

She removed her sun glasses and every one was shocked. She was a blind person. Her father said , ” Her eyes can neither be cured nor can be transplanted. I am a rich person but I can not give her happiness of seeing everything around.”

I symathized with the person and thanked God for whatever he has given to me.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Meghna on May 7, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Nice story…generally we dont realize that inspite of all the problems that we have…we are in a much better situation than many other people..

    Reply

  2. Posted by Divyendu on May 7, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    After reading it, I remembered a Kotak ad where the rich guy goes into his costly car, watches a young kid with a huge tuft of hair cross the road, and wistfully runs a hand across his bald head πŸ™‚

    nice to see you trying a genre other than romance…although it was a lil predictable, liked reading it…. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Simply awesome!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by DC++ on May 8, 2009 at 4:03 am

    Nice one, Try to make some unique and original one. One good thing is that you keep yourself involve in your stories.

    Reply

  5. Posted by gowridev on May 8, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Good one,one thing like about ur stories u are always to the point.sometimes u miss a chance explain certain things which can elaborated to make story interesting or clear.try to think how can improve the same story.i am just encouraging you.keep writing πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Posted by makrand13 on May 14, 2009 at 11:27 am

    @thnx all for comments, i tried a different genre though story ws indeed a bit predictable

    Reply

  7. Posted by dipti on May 14, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    this story made me suspicious πŸ˜‰
    nice story

    Reply

Leave a Reply

