No Choice

Post type : Short Story

She was traveling in a crowded bus. She didn’t get a seat, so had to travel standing . The guy behind her hit her from back second time. First time she ignored but second time she turned around and  slapped him hard on his face.  “Don’t you know how to behave ? “,  she shouted at him. He felt ashamed and said,  ” I didn’t hit you .”  An old man who was sitting near by told her, ” He came few seconds back here, there was someone else standing here earlier.”

She felt sorry for him and asked him to forgive her. He didn’t say anything and turned his face away. “I am sorry again , please forgive me “. The guy replied with a smile, “Only on one condition. If you can come for a coffee with me. ”

She agreed and they decided to have a coffee in the evening. She liked him very much. He appeared a gentleman with a great sense of humor. He was well educated and she got interested in his talks.  Few days later he called her for coffee again. She wanted to say no but she couldn’t say that.

Soon they were meeting almost daily. Everyday she decided to make their meeting as the  last meeting but she was not able to do that. Then one day she told him, “I should have told you earlier but I don’t know what was stopping me.  I am going to get engaged soon. I really like you , but I have to get married with the boy whom my father has decided upon. ”

The guy threw upon  her a series of  questions , “Ohh !!. Have you seen that guy? Have you met him ? How does he look ? ”

“I haven’t met or seen him yet. ”

“What !!! You are going to get married to a guy ,you haven’t seen even ”

“Look, I didn’t want it either. My father survived one heart attack recently. In some other circumstances I would have opposed my father’s decision but not  now. I am going to meet the guy  soon but in any case I have to say yes . We are just waiting for his reply . I am sorry but this is the last time we are meeting. ”

He said nothing after that. As he took out his wallet to pay the bill, it fell down. She saw the same photo of her in his wallet that was sent to his future husband’s family. She was speechless and didn’t have a clue what was happening.

The guy said with a smile , ” I knew that you were going to say yes in any case. My father came to know about this from your brother. But I didn’t want our marriage this way. I wanted you to like me and then only say yes. I would have never known whether you like me or not ,if you were asked. That’s why I delayed the reply and my family did not send my photo ”

He continued , ” I am also sorry for hitting you twice in the bus. It was me only who was misbehaving but I had no other way to meet you. The old man in the bus was my father.  If you would not have agreed to meet, I had to find some other way. But thank God you agreed for coffee that day ”

She was listening all this with surprise and pleasure .

He asked her, “So, now I know that you like me. Will you marry me Now?”

This time also she had no choice but to say yes .

22 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Swati on May 11, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Wow bhaiya… u r just getting better day be day… keep posting [:)]

    Reply

  2. Posted by Divyendu on May 11, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    I could actually give it a try when my time comes….but you would have to dress up like my father 😀

    Reply

    • Posted by makrand13 on May 14, 2009 at 11:24 am

      @divyendu any thing for u bro 🙂 but i hope ur father would agree to do that too seeing ur nice intentions 🙂

      Reply

  3. i have “no choice” – very nice.

    Reply

  4. Posted by DC++ on May 12, 2009 at 4:58 am

    Ultimate one, as gears have been changed 😉
    As always the end is superb.

    Reply

  5. Posted by amitabh on May 12, 2009 at 6:59 am

    kahaani poori filmi hai …..
    nice one………

    Reply

  6. Posted by dipti on May 12, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    nice movie script
    congrats for blog

    Reply

  7. i enjoyed your story even though there was nothing new in it… 🙂

    Reply

  8. Posted by umesh kewat on May 14, 2009 at 5:40 am

    good way to meet some one who r ur would be.. :p

    Reply

  9. Posted by Amol on May 15, 2009 at 7:57 am

    This really good. I wish it could be real some day [:)]

    Reply

  10. Posted by Monika on May 15, 2009 at 9:43 am

    hey very nice story 🙂

    Reply

  11. Thank God some men are ‘gentlemen’, after all 🙂

    Reply

  12. Posted by navin singh on July 24, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    loved it!!!!!!!! lage raho………….

    Reply

  13. Nice twist!!! I really liked your story!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

