Memories of IIIT-H : Chapter 1

This was the third time I was coming to Hyderabad. The first time was when I came with my family and second time for my written exam. This time I was welcomed by a heavy rain. It was raining so heavily that I got wet even inside auto rikshaw. There was a strong wind blowing along with the rain that made rain coming inside auto.

When I reached college I was completely wet. I caught up with fever by night and was thinking whether I would be ready for interview next day. Luckily I was fine next day and was ready for my interview.

I reached main building and met Meghna who was looking more nervous than me. Then she introduced me to Ritesh sir who was her guide and coincidentally my senior. He graduated from the SGSITS Indore, the same college from where I did my engineering. He gave me a few interview tips and asked me a few questions like a mock interview. At that moment I didn’t realize that I was meeting a person whom I would be respecting so much in coming days.

After some time my turn had come. It was 20 minutes before lunch time and that me doubtful whether this can go against me. The panel might rush through my interview to have their lunch on time. With all those doubts in my mind I opened the gate of interview room.

I saw a panel of six professors sitting in front of me. I entered the room, hiding my nervousness and took a seat. I was wondering why six people are needed when one is enough to scare me. I was expecting bouncers from all sides and was thinking how to duck them. I forwarded my final year project report to one of the profesor and was expecting some questions from it.

He destoryed my first plan by putting aside that report. Then professor in front of me asked 2-3 questions from operating systems that I was able to answer. I gained some confidence and thought interview is going quite well.

If everything goes the way u thought then there would be no fun in life. The next question I was asked about working of dual core processor. I din’t have a clue about it and decided to accept it. The same trend continued for next 3-4 questions. The questions were framed so that I couldn’t even guess and had to say “sorry sir” every time. This was the story for initial 5 minutes.

The next question I was asked was, ” Why don’t you go for MS ? ” and after that entire interview revolved around this question. I gave all the replies that I could think of and excuses that I had heard from others. Finally after some more questions interview was over and I know I had performed very badly.

I came back home and started preparing myself for my job. I didn’t expect my selection at all. I was in Indore that day when Meghna called me and said, ” You are selected”. I could not believe and tears came out of my eyes. I had fullfilled my father’s dream.

My parents decided to come with me. I was against this as I thought it was not needed  but later on realized that they want to wish me luck from the place itself. After settling everything they left  for my hometown on Sunday. Next day, 9th july, Monday I was getting ready for my journey to start.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Oh the interviews are a lot of fun for the teachers. I remember a prof asking me something about RSA to which I replied – “I forgot it sir…”, to which he replied – “You shouldn’t forget things…especially during interviews…”. 😀 😀

    badhiya likha mak 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by DC++ on June 17, 2009 at 5:59 am

    There is a strong relation between you and the disaster, both go hand in hand….. Your welcome is ultimate in hyderbad everytime… 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by laQshya on June 17, 2009 at 9:32 am

    The question regarding MS would certainly have been asked by PJN Sir…. Am I right?? 😀

    Reply

  4. Posted by makrand on June 18, 2009 at 5:16 am

    @divyendu thnx again for reading and feedback
    @DC++ u r absolutely rite,initial 2 welcomes were disastrous
    @laQshya u r rite

    Reply

Leave a Reply

