Memories of IIIT-H : Chapter 11

All the fun had come to a momentary pause in third sem. I needed to be focused then as not much time was left in placement seesion. Third semester had 1 compulsory course computer networks and other electives I took were data mining, cryptography and middleware system.

Crypto classes were menat for sleeping. This was the first course where I actually slept in the class. All the interest in the course I had before beginning of course, got away after classes had started. In contrast to this Computer Network classes were interesting and though we were permitted to sleep in class, I never felt the need to do so.

Third course Data mining went above my head as only research papers were taught. I remember we all used to rush towards last row and occupy the safest seats from where we could not be seen. Many of used to solve sample questions from data structures as part of our preparation for big battle coming in few months.

The lightest of all was middleware system. I had the impression that this would be a heavy course but the assignments were interesting so never felt like having work load. This was the course with many new technologies and was a good learning opportunity. The course had a project which consisted of a huge team of 12 members to give us industry like experience.

We were allotted a new lab and brand new zenith systems were given to us which had 17 inch monitors. Now you can expect what would have been the best use of them. Yes they were meant for gaming. All of sudden Fifa, NFS, Counter Strike, Age of Empires n many more such names could be seen n heard in lab :). One could see me playing Fifa even a few minutes before mid sem exams :). I never used to go to lab in first year and worked from my room, but the new systems brought me to lab and made me stay there for hours.

Data mining classes were boring but it had some good programming assignments some of which I worked on sincerely. We were studying for both courses and placements simultaneously. I was working hard not as diligently as first sem but yes I was putting some effort. But at the same time in between study sessions the gaming was going on quite well too.

Time was moving at steady pace and we were counting how many days were remaining after each month. The pressure was building up gradually and I was telling myself that only thing I need to do is to keep my head cool. This semester did not offer much eventful days but the one day was there which offered us a chance to celebrate. The biggest indian festival Diwali had come.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by laQshya on July 12, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    The best of the data mining class was we made sure none of us would get caught by the prof. Except for one time when Ramnarayan was caught sleeping in the back.

    Reply

  2. Posted by DC++ on July 12, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    “Crypto classes were meant for sleeping. This was the first course where I actually slept in the class.” If you really were sleeping then how you able to decipher the code in your previous short stories. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

