A Tribute to My Teachers

I was reading the newspaper and realized today is Teacher’s day. I was feeling a bit bad that I didn’t remember the day. I started recalling about all the teachers who had taught me right from school to my post graduation. It was a pleasant recap and I realized there were so many people who built the foundation of my future. So, this post is my tribute to all those people who in any way taught me something for life.

It’s difficult to recall the names of all the teachers but still I would try to include everyone who had major impact in giving me some kind of education. I did my schooling upto 8th class from Saraswati Vidya Mandir. I am not aware of the current status but at that time it was a very good institution and majority of credit goes to the teachers over there who taught me in my childhood.

The culture of school was differnt from other schools and we used to call teachers as Acharyaji and Didi inplace of Sir and Madam. I remember two teachers Ghan Didi and Mungre didi who taught me in my initial days in school in classes LKG onwards. I still have my report cards with their feedback and remarks about me and will keep them for life time. Our Science teacher Tanuja didi and our principle Hirwe didi are the other two teachers whom I remember as my primary school teachers. Along with them one more teacher Ravindra Jain Acharyaji with whom we are still in touch, used to teach us mathematics and english. The two subjects which were very important in my career, were made interesting to me in early part of my life by him.

After moving from primary school to higher classes in same school, I was guided and taught by a few more great teachers. My favorite teacher was my sanskrit teacher Poornima didi. She was very soft spoken, humble and good natured. I used to work hard very hard in her subject to score max. marks and majority of times it was 50 out of 50. If she had taught all subjects, I would have scored 300 out of 300 for sure :). My hindi was very good because of our hindi teacher Joshi didi. The two teachers of whom we all used to be most scared of were our physical exercice teachers Dongre acharyji and Bairagi acharyji. They were very strict and I understood later that their strictness was for benefit of students.

I changed my school in ninth class and my luck of having some good teachers continued. I was taught mathematics by K.G. Sharma sir and the best sentence of him about mathematics was the break down meaning of word ma-the-ma-tic-s translating in his words as ” mathe (brain)  me (in) tic (keep)  warna (otherwise)  tu (you) ass (donkey)  :)”. He was a calm and experienced person. Another great teacher was Arya sir who taught us social science. Though I hated the subject but liked his personality which was simple but great. One more teacher was Bhatnagar madam and she was the best teacher of english I could have at that time. I had switched form hindi to english medium and at that time it was because of her teaching, I was not afraid of special english course. Our science teacher Bhalerav madam was very supportive for all of us.

One special teacher who will always be important for me is Anil Chincholikar sir. He taught me in school as well as for competitive exams. It was because of him that Chemistry specially organic chemistry was interesting and scoring for me. His unique style of teaching involving code words for rememering things always helped me not only in that course but other courses in future too.

Things change from school to college and so as teachers. Though I studied in classes of very good professors but they were not as close to my heart as my school teachers. But still there are some teachers whom I respect very much. One such professor is Mehta sir who used to teach operating system to us in my undergraduates. He was very serious person and we used to get surprised whenever he smiled.

There were two more persons who were not from my college but taught important things to me during my undergraduates. One is Kelkar sir, under whom i took many programming languages classes. He was a great help in my undergraduates. The other one is Mr. Sandeep Atre. He is differnt from all others in one respect. He did not teach me regular courses but taught some important things that are very useful in life. I attended his classes of Group Discussion preparation and I would never forget that learnings of those 45 days in my entire life.

After coming to IIIT-H there were a few profesors who were great personalities and it was great to listen and learn from them. Some of them whom I enjoyed listening were Dr. Kamal sir, PJN sir, Govindrajalu sir, Jawahar sir etc. Though I did not take course under them excpet Kamal sir, their dedication, way of working n doing things, communication skills were a great model of learning.

In addition to all these there have been lot of other teachers whose names haven’t come in this post but have made a differnce in my life. I would thank you all for ur efforts and helping in building my career and showing me the path that can make a responsible and good human being.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by abhishek pandey on September 5, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    Have the same feeling…..
    I was also recalling many of my teachers today….
    ultimately they have a major contribution in what we are today.
    Wished some of my ug and pg teachers through e-mail……
    unfortunately could not do the same for my school teachers …..

    Reply

  2. Posted by abhishek pandey on September 5, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    hey , i also attended a 3 day workshop by Mr. Sandeep Atre while i was in BIT Durg. I remember that time me and a lot of lazy fellows like me used to get up early and attend his class from 8 am. he was really gud at things he used to talk about.. still have the notes that i made at that time…

    Reply

  3. Oh thatz a lovely post paying ur tribute to each one of them or as many as possible 🙂

    Loved what u wrote abt each teacher 🙂

    mathe (brain) me (in) tic (keep) warna (otherwise) tu (you) ass (donkey) – Really interesting!

    Happy Teachers Day 🙂

    Reply

  4. This is great! yay orgo!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Divs on September 7, 2009 at 7:55 am

    quite well written brotha 🙂
    Got nostalgic reading the post man…its really our primary n middle school teachers who make us who we become later in life…

    Reply

  6. Posted by dipti on September 7, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    great yaar
    good memory
    i also recalled all our school teacher since class first

    Reply

  7. 🙂 ,hamare teachers bade acche the 🙂

    Reply

  8. Posted by umesh on September 11, 2009 at 4:33 am

    i forgot that day to wish…. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

