Republic Day

I will start the post with a SMS I got few hours back and which indeed will enlighten the crux of this post

“Bharat ke besharam logo , agar 2 din baad valentine/friendship day hota to abhi tak 100 SMS aa gaye hote. Wishing you happy republic day”.

And if you think for a moment, it’s completely true. Republic day has become just a holiday to majorityย  of us, including me. The maximum we do is to watch the ‘parade’ on tv along with sips of morning tea and I have not been doing even that for last few years. If it would have been some other special day, we would be wishing our friends, family and close ones. But no excitement is there for this important day.

The day had maximum importance in our lives when we were in school. The preparation for the day’s events used to start many days before. The enthusiasm was great towards the entire celebration. In addition it used to be favorite topic for essay writing : ). Somehow we were connected to day and in turn some thoughs were put towards nation.

Things started changing and now sadly the day has lost importance in our lives. We are not concerned about the day apart from the fact it’s a holiday and an opportunity to relax and enjoy. The question I asked myself was do I ever think about nation in a way that I used to think when I was in early years of school. Alas ! the answer came out as a ‘no’.

But then I am trying to fulfil some duties towards nation. I think the best way to serve our nation today is working peacefully, following laws, helping those who need helpย  and contributing to overall growth. Let’s keep our cities clean so that we don’t feel emberresed when an outsider comes to our cities. Let no one gets chance to point a finger at something bad happening in some part of country. I know it all sounds day dreaming but atleast put a steap ahead, if we can’t complete the walk. I think this will be the best way we can give some thing back to nation. Like Dr. Kalam building our own India 2020 vision. Lets think for atleast one day about our nation in addition to ‘ I ‘.

Happy Republic Day to every Indian.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kirti on January 26, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Good one, at least u got time to write this in u r busy schedule as i know.

    Reply

  2. Sigh! U r so true ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The n/ws wud be jammed on other days ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    We cn def. do our bit .. nt day-dreaming at all ๐Ÿ™‚ I am with u on this one ๐Ÿ˜€

    A very happy republic day to u too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

